golden retriever chiot

Golden Retriever

He is the direct cousin of the Labrador more than of the English Setter with which he is often associated, this is all the more so when we have a Golden retriever dog in front of us.

Specialists are unable to agree on the origin of the Goldens Retrievers. However, several theories are presented. One claims that Lord Tweedmouth adopted what would later become the Golden, but was a direct descendant of a Caucasian Shepherd. Another would like him to come down from a cross between a Water Spaniel and a Wavy Coated. Another theory would say it is a cross between a Water Spaniel and a Bloodhound.

Originally its name was the flat coated Retriever.

You will have understood it, the origins of the Golden are rather vague what does not prevent it from being a golden dog.

History

The breed appeared at the beginning of the 20th century, in 1909 to be precise, at a dog show, but had been registered in England as early as 1913 and finally became a recognised “pure” breed in 1931. The end of the Second World War marked the beginning of the Golden boom in Western Europe.

 

It has even become since the 90’s where its peak was approaching until today one of the most popular breeds in the world.

He managed to seduce the audience with his jovial, friendly, intelligent and affectionate character as well as his magnificent golden dress. He then became the ideal companion dog for many. In addition, he is an extraordinary working dog, among other things because of his swimming qualities. It also finds its full place as a hunting dog (retriever), guide dog, or rescue dog.

 

 

Its physical characteristics :

 

He is considered a big dog.

Its hairs are half-long.

Size

In terms of average size, females range from 21 to 56 cm while the male can claim a size of 56 to 61 cm.

The weight

The weight also depends of course on the sex of the animal. For a male, 28 to 32 kg seems to be the norm, while his female counterpart is content with a weight of 24 to 28 kg.

Fur

Its fur ranges from creamy white to dark gold. Its ears are hanging and of medium size and its eyes are dark brown in colour.

 

His character and behaviour :

 

Affection and calm are known to be ingrained in them. He is also protective and coexists almost perfectly with children. He is nonetheless an excellent hunting dog and is extremely sociable both with members of his family and with other dogs or strangers. On the other hand, its lack of independence is the negative point of this breed.

The character of the golden retriever is no less stubborn.

 

How to educate it?

Above all, the golden retriever is a dog of great intelligence. And although this breed is very popular, it is not the easiest. Indeed, they are generally not very obedient. Often for the Golden, we don’t even talk about training in the sense that it is a very sensitive breed and that its education passes above all through encouragement rather than reprimands. It can be frustrating to see his stubbornness emerge from time to time. The ideal master of the golden must possess tact and patience, while remaining calm. The golden is always looking to please and satisfy its owner.

It is also important to ensure a serious socialisation of Goldens Retriever puppies from an early age.

For its education, even if it is far from being the most difficult of dogs, experience is still advisable. Because its player side can play tricks on you.

 

Ideal living conditions?

The flat is not his preferred habitat, but it could be done under certain conditions; he should stay as close as possible to his masters and be taken out once or several times a day in the ideal case.

Having an outdoor area as a playground is obviously ideal because it is a dog that needs relatively sustained physical activity.

 

His health?

He is considered to be a very strong dog.

Only a few fragilities are known such as: the tail when wet (which can happen since he generally likes water), ears, certain allergies, dermatitis and skin diseases. He is also at risk of cancer, hip dysplasia and even cataracts in later life.

His life expectancy is around 13 years.

 

Its maintenance and hygiene

Although it is not difficult to maintain (although it is not always a pleasure to make him take a shower), it is nevertheless relatively expensive from this point of view. Hair loss is one of the daily struggles you will face and even more so in the spring. He drools relatively hard, but it always depends on the individual.

When to switch from puppy food to adult food?

As Amaury Vienne says in the article“How do you feed your dog properly?”The transition to adult dog food should take place in the last third of the dog’s growth. In the case of the Golden, it must adapt its diet between 10 and 12 months.

Post a Comment

fbpx

Golden Retriever

Il est le cousin direct du labrador plus que du Setter Anglais auquel il est souvent associé, cela se marque d’autant plus quand on a sous les yeux un chien Golden retriever.

Les spécialistes n’arrivent pas à accorder leurs violons sur l’origine des Goldens Retrievers.  Plusieurs théories sont cependant sur la table. L’une prétend que le Lord Tweedmouth aurait adopté ce qui deviendra plus tard le Golden, mais qui serait un descendant direct d’un Berger du Caucase. Une autre voudrait qu’il descende d’un croisement d’un Spaniel d’eau et d’un Wavy Coated. Ou encore, issu d’un croisement d’un Spaniel d’eau et d’un Bloodhound. 

À l’origine son nom était le flat coated Retriever. 

Vous l’aurez compris, les origines du Golden sont assez floues ce qui ne l’empêche pas d’être un chien en or. 

Histoire

La race est apparue au début du 20e siècle, en 1909 précisément, dans une exposition canine, mais avait été enregistrée dès 1913 en Angleterre pour enfin devenir une race « pure » reconnue en 1931. C’est la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui marque le début de l’essor du Golden dans l’Europe de l’ouest. 

 

Elle est même devenue depuis les années 90 ou son apogée approchait jusqu’à aujourd’hui une des races les plus populaires du monde entier. 

Il a réussi à séduire le public avec son caractère jovial, amical, intelligent et affectueux ainsi que sa magnifique robe d’or. Il est alors devenu le chien de compagnie idéal pour beaucoup. De plus, c’est un chien de travail extraordinaire entre autres pour ses qualités de nageur. Il trouve toute sa place aussi comme chien de chasse (chien de rapport), chien d’aveugle – chien guide, ou encore chien de sauvetage.

 

 

Ses caractéristiques physiques :

 

Il est considéré comme un grand chien. 

Ses poils sont mi-longs.

Taille

Pour ce qui est de la taille moyenne, les femelles oscillent entre 21 et 56 cm tandis que le mâle peut prétendre à une taille de 56 à 61 cm.

Le poids

 Le poids dépend aussi bien évidemment du sexe de l’animal. Pour un mâle, 28 à 32 kg semble la norme alors que son homologue féminin se contente d’un poids de 24 à 28 kg. 

Pelage

 Son pelage va du blanc crème au doré foncé. Ses oreilles sont pendantes et de taille moyenne et ses yeux sont de couleurs marron foncé. 

 

Son caractère et son comportement :

 

L’affection et le calme sont connus pour être ancrés en eux. Il est aussi protecteur et cohabite presque à la perfection avec des enfants. Il n’en reste pas moins un excellent chien de chasse et est extrêmement sociable tant avec les membres de sa famille qu’avec d’autres chiens ou encore des étrangers. En revanche, son manque d’indépendance est le point négatif de cette race. 

Le caractère du golden retriever n’en est pas moins têtu. 

 

Comment l’éduquer ? 

Il faut avant tout savoir que le golden retriever est un chien d’une grande intelligence. Et bien que cette race soit très populaire, il ne s’agit pas de la plus facile. En effet, ils sont généralement peu obéissants. Souvent pour le Golden, on ne parle même pas de dressage dans le sens ou c’est une race très sensible et que son éducation passe avant tout par des encouragements plus que par des réprimandes. Il peut être frustrant de voir ressortir à l’occasion son caractère têtu. Le maître idéal du golden doit posséder du tact et de la patience, tout en restant calme. Le golden recherche toujours à plaire et à satisfaire son proprio. 

Il est aussi important d’assurer dès le plus jeune âge une sociabilisation sérieuse des chiots goldens retrievers. 

Pour son éducation, même s’il est loin d’être le plus difficile des chiens, une expérience est quand même conseillée. Car son côté joueur peut vous jouer des tours. 

 

Les conditions de vie idéales ? 

L’appartement n’est pas son habitat de prédilection, mais pourrait s’y faire à certaines conditions ; il doit rester le plus possible près de ses maîtres et être sorti une a plusieurs fois par jour dans l’idéal. 

Avoir un espace extérieur comme aire de jeux est évidemment l’idéal parce que c’est un chien qui a besoin d’une activité physique relativement soutenue. 

 

Sa santé ?

Il est considéré comme un chien très solide. 

Seules quelques fragilités sont connues comme : la queue lorsqu’elle est humide (ce qui peut arriver vu qu’il aime généralement l’eau), les oreilles, certaines allergies, dermites et maladies de la peau. Il est aussi à risque de cancer, à la dysplasie de la hanche et même dans un âge plus avancé à la cataracte. 

Son espérance de vie se situe autour de 13 ans.

 

Son entretien et son hygiène

Bien qu’il ne soit pas difficile à entretenir (quoique ce n’est pas toujours une partie de plaisir de lui faire prendre une douche), il n’en est pas moins relativement onéreux de ce point de vue. La perte de poils fait partie des combats quotidiens auxquels vous devrez faire face et d’autant plus au printemps. Il bave relativement fort, mais tout cela dépend toujours d’un individu à l’autre. 

Quand passer des croquettes chiots aux croquettes adultes ?

Comme le dit Amaury Vienne dans l’article “Comment bien nourrir son chien?”, le passage aux croquettes pour chien adulte doit se faire dans le dernier tiers de la croissance du chien. Pour le cas du Golden, il doit adapter son alimentation entre 10 et 12 mois.

Post a Comment